Josée in Ottawa

Fx40, or My Mini-midlife Crisis

Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about my Fit by Forty (Fx40) project. I turn forty in about fifteen months. I want to embrace my forties and concentrate on what’s really important to me, without all of the distractions that I feel have been bogging me down. (I am easily distracted.) I’ve been doing some reading and I’m going to model my project after Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project, with a lot Leo Babauta’s mnnlist.com and zenhabits.net thrown in. (Warning – reading these last two blogs may lead to uncontrollable decluttering and much soul searching!)

Every month I’m going to pick one habit that I want to work on, something that I want to make a regular part of my routine for the rest of my life. On another interesting blog I recently discovered, Scott H. Young talks about setting yourself up for failure by trying to accomplish too much at a time. It’s definitely something I’m guilty of, so instead of trying to upend my whole life at once I’m going to focus on making small changes each month, so that they can be sustainable. Each month I’ll also set some challenges for myself, discrete tasks that can I can consider “completed” once I reach a certain pre-defined milestone.

One thing that I’ve been thinking a lot about lately why I’m so desperate to change things. I love my kids, I love my husband, and family life is pretty good. I’m working on a new business that I’m really excited about. We just moved to a new house that I love. But something is missing. I need to figure out what it is. I need to slow down and figure out what is really important to me, and cut out the stuff that is just a waste of time.

October’s Habit: Exercise

So. October has already started but the habit I want to work on this month is exercise. I’ve already started ramping up my running in the hopes of running a personal-best 10K during Ottawa Race Weekend in May. I’ve already signed up for the race, which is a good step since it often sells out early. My goal for October is to run at twice a week and to do my pilates video once a week.

Challenge #1

My first challenge will be to put together a 10K training strategy, and my due date for getting that done will be October 13th.

Let my Fx40 project officially begin!

Leave a Reply

