Josée in Ottawa

Room to Breathe

Leave a comment

I’ve been striving for years to simplify my life, and I’ve finally gotten to a point where I have some breathing room. The night course I was taking at Ottawa U ended in early April, and when B.G.’s gymnastics session ended at about the same time we decided to wait until September to re-enroll her. We made the same decision when both kid’s swimming classes ended. I’m still trying to study for the upcoming promotion at work but at the rate that’s going it may drag on for another six months – the urgency has totally dissipated. Which has left me with time to read, time to exercise, time to plant the garden I was hoping to plant last year, and more time to socialize. And it’s been great. I feel much calmer and more refreshed than I have in years. In the past few weeks however, I’ve figured out that my brain doesn’t really deal well with downtime. I promised myself that when I got to this point I would take it easy for a long, long time, but every day my brain seems to hatch a new plan – lately I’ve been obsessed with painting and decorating the house. After the stress of the move last summer and unpacking and organizing the place, we managed to paint the kids’ rooms and then ran out of steam for other home improvement. Nothing’s been done since, and I can’t stop thinking about it.

I promised myself that I would take it easy and laze about during my holidays this summer, but I honestly don’t know if I’ll be able to.

DSCF4533

Leave a Reply

