Josée in Ottawa

Whiplash

2 Comments

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting an anonymous blog, so that I can say what I want without censoring myself. Lately every time I start to write a post I wonder, “Should I post this?” “What will so-and-so think if I tell this story?” “Will I come off like a bad mom if I share this?” It’s gotten to the point where I haven’t been posting anything at all.

So… Instead of starting an anonymous blog when I already have a perfectly good blog going, and since I only have about two faithful readers (I promise not to talk smack about you guys – at least not without giving you a heads up first. 🙂 Yes, I’m talking to you mom…) I’m just going to throw caution to the wind and post whatever I want. So the tone of my blog posts may be about to change…

I’ve also just discovered the publicize button, so I may return to twitter after an extended absence. It was a nice break, but I must admit I’ve missed it.

And let me get this out of the way right now: I won’t be winning any mom-of-the-year awards this year.

J

2 thoughts on “Whiplash

  1. Ha! Who *does* win mother of the year awards? No judgement here, that’s for sure.

    My 10-year-old saw me writing on my blog yesterday and asked if it was about him. I admitted it was, and he asked if he could read it first and remove anything that was embarrassing. I felt like I had to agree, although I was very tense that he’d take out all the funny bits. Luckily he gave me a pass this time – but looks like I’ve got my first external censor!

    It’s a fine line you walk when sharing stories about other people, but hopefully, your kids (at least) will value the little window into your life and their lives as they get older.

  2. It’s hard to figure out where to draw the line. I have to just go for it or else I’ll never post anything.
    My kids don’t understand the concept of the blog yet, though I’m sure it won’t be long before B.G. figures it out. Hopefully your little censor will go easy on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

