Josée in Ottawa

Hubby, aka “The Yes Man”

2 Comments

yeah yeah yeah by Tim Snell (Flickr Creative Commons)

yeah yeah yeah by Tim Snell (Flickr Creative Commons)

When the kids stay home from school because they’re sick, we follow one simple rule: They must nap in the afternoon. Knowing this, they usually think twice about pulling the “I don’t feel well” card unless it’s really true. B.G. stayed home from school with Hubby last week, and when I got home and mentioned The Rule, she let it slip that “Daddy didn’t make me take a nap”.  Hubby exclaimed, “Hey, you weren’t supposed to tell mommy!”

A few days later when I was out of earshot she told him, “When I want something, I ask you. You’re the Yes Man.”

Such wisdom at such a young age. I can’t decide whether to be amused that she’s figured this out, or upset that this makes me “The No Mommy” by default. Either way, Hubby’s in trouble now.

2 thoughts on “Hubby, aka “The Yes Man”

  1. We have the opposite problem here – I’m the Yes Woman. My husband and I are always working towards a happy middle ground – him trying to make me tougher, me trying to make him more casual. But it all works out in the end, I find – between the two of us, it’s a good balance!

  2. I think overall we have a pretty good balance too, but it irks me to be “The No Mommy”! Why can’t I be the laid back parent? I have a little experiment in mind…

Leave a Reply

