Josée in Ottawa

A Small Experiment That Might Go Horribly, Horribly Wrong. Or Not.

2 Comments

In my last blog post I mentioned that B.G. has dubbed Hubby “The Yes Man”, which makes me “The No Mommy” by default. So I’m going to try a little experiment. For the next week, I’m going to say yes to everything the kids ask me. I considered doing this without telly Hubby, but then I decided that I might need some backup:

Child: “Mommy, can I eat all three of these chocolate bars?”

Me: “Ummm…. go ask Daddy.”

I warned Hubby that if one of the kids asks me something like that I’ll just look at him and he can feel free to jump right in with that no. I’ve also been thinking of how to manage open-ended questions, and I think that a conversation along the lines of…

Child: “Can I stay up?”

Me: “You’d like to stay up another ten minutes? Sure!”

…would be perfectly acceptable. It’s not saying no, it’s just qualifying the yes (parents are sneaky that way).

I’m not sure what I’ll do if I get into a situation where saying yes would make me late for work, or if I’m asked to do things which are mutually exclusive:

Child (just as I’m about to leave to catch the bus): “Mommy, can you play a game of Uno with me?”

or

Child 1:”Can you play Uno with me?”

Child 2 (at the same time):”Can you colour with me?”

but maybe I’m overthinking this.

Hubby assures me that the world won’t end if I say yes to everything for a week. We’ll see.

Go ahead - have as much as you like! (Chocolate Bars by Brockamer - Flickr Creative Commons)

Go ahead – have as much as you like! (Chocolate Bars by Brockamer – Flickr Creative Commons)

2 thoughts on “A Small Experiment That Might Go Horribly, Horribly Wrong. Or Not.

  1. I’m super interested to hear how this goes. I read an article a few years back about saying “yes” more often, and since then I have tried to do that. But I find if you do it on an ongoing basis, it just kind of re-sets the baseline – for example, if you start saying yes to ice cream after dinner every night, suddenly there’s requests for ice cream after lunch too – so you’re back to either saying no on a regular basis, or letting the line slip even farther towards chaos.

    I still felt like it helped me open up my mindset, though. Instead of a reflex “no” to most things, I did try to think more about whether or not it was really a bad thing, and trying hard not to say “no” to things just because I’m tired or lazy. Can’t wait to hear how it goes at your house!

  2. Pingback: The Yes Experiment: Results | Josée in Ottawa

Leave a Reply

